Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, District 14's Democratic Nominee for Congress, high-fives a voter on election day. Photo credit: Corey Torpie

Ocasio-Cortez Defeats Crowley

By David Brand @D4V1DBR4ND

In a stunning upset, progressive challenger Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez defeated Rep. Joe Crowley in the District 14 primary last night. Crowley will remain chair of the powerful Queens County Democratic Party.

Ocasio-Cortez, a 28-year-old Bronx activist, ran on a progressive platform that included rejecting corporate money and curtailing Immigration and Customs Enforcement. Her candidacy galvanized progressives nationwide. Crowley, who has represented the region in the State Assembly and in Congress since 1987, had received endorsements from most local lawmakers. It was rumored that Crowley, a 10-term Congressman, planned to run for Speaker of the House if the Democrats reclaimed the chamber.

In District 12, which includes Western Queens, as well as Northwest Brooklyn and the East Side of Manhattan, Maloney defeated Suraj Patel, a hotel executive and NYU ethics professor who hoped to become the state’s first Congressional delegate of South Asian descent.

In the only other contested primary, Rep. Gregory Meeks defeated Gregory Achille and Mizan Chowdhury in the District 5.

Democratic representatives Grace Meng (District 6), Nydia Velazquez (District 7) and Hakeem Jeffries (District 8) all ran unopposed. No Republicans ran in their districts

In District 3, which covers a small piece of northeast Queens, incumbent Rep. Thomas Suozzi ran unopposed. In November, Suozzi will face off against Dan De Bono, a banker who ran unopposed on the Republican ticket.

Republican Eliot Rabin ran unopposed and won the nomination in District 12 and Republican Anthony Pappas ran unopposed and won the nomination in District 14.

The Midterm election will take place on Nov. 6, 2018.

District 3

Democratic Primary

Winner: Thomas Suozzi (Unopposed)

Republican Primary

Winner: Dan De Bono (Unopposed)

District 5


Winner: Gregory Meeks

Carl Achille

Mizan Choudhury

District 6

Democratic Primary

Winner: Grace Meng (Unopposed)

District 7

Democratic Primary

Winner: Nydia Velazquez (Unopposed)

District 7

Democratic Primary

Winner: Hakeem Jeffries (Unopposed)

District 12

Democratic Primary Winner

Winner:  Carolyn Maloney

Suraj Patel

Republican Primary

Winner:  Eliot Rabin (Unopposed)

District 14

Democratic Primary

Winner: Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

Joe Crowley

Republican Primary

Winner: Anthony Pappas (Unopposed)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *